Smart Cities in India

Kishan Thakkar K

As per the guideline of ‘Smart City, Mission Statement & Guidelines, released by MoHUA, National Smart Cities Mission is an urban renewal and retrofitting program by the Government of India with the mission to develop smart cities across the country, making them citizen-friendly and sustainable.

The Smart Cities Mission was launched on 25 June 2015 by the Government of India. The purpose of this initiative is to promote sustainability and inclusive cities that provide a decent quality of life to their citizens, a clean and sustainable environment, and a smarter application of technology.

Source: guideline of ‘Smart City, Mission Statement & Guidelines, released by MoHUA

Among the core infrastructure elements of a Smart City would be adequate water supply, assured electricity, sanitation, including waste management, efficient public transit and urban mobility, affordable housing, and robust IT connectivity and digitalization, e-Governance, sustainable environment, safety and security of citizens and health & education. The application of Smart Solutions will allow cities to improve their infrastructure and services using technology.

The strategy components of Area based developments are, 

  1. Retrofitting
  2. Redevelopment
  3. Greenfield

Go through the list of smart cities released by the government, and check whether your city is listed here or not,

Port Blair, Vishakhapatnam, Tirupati, Kakinada, Pasighat, Guwahati, Muzaffarpur, Bhagalpur, Biharsharif, Chandigarh, Raipur, Bilaspur, Diu, Silvassa, NDMC, Panaji, Gandhinagar, Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Dahod, Karnal, Faridabad, Dharamsala, Ranchi, Mangaluru, Belagavi, Shivamogga, Hubballi-Dharwad, Tumakuru, Davanegere, Kochi, Kavaratti, Bhopal, Indore, Jabalpur, Gwalior, Sagar, Satna, Ujjain, Navi Mumbai, Nasik, Thane, Greater Mumbai, Amaravati, Solapur, Nagpur, Kalyan-Dombivalli, Aurangabad, Pune, Imphal, Shillong, Aizawl, Kohima, Bhubaneswar, Rourkela, Oulgaret, Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Amritsar, Jaipur, Udaipur, Kota, Ajmer, Namchi, Tiruchirapalli, Tirunelveli, Dindigul, Thanjavur, Tiruppur, Salem, Vellore, Coimbatore, Madurai, Erode, Thoothukudi, Chennai, Greater Hyderabad, Greater Warangal, Agartala, Moradabad, Aligarh, Shaharanpur, Bareilly, Jhansi, Kanpur, Allahabad, Lucknow, Varanasi, Ghaziabad, Agra, Rampur, Dehradun, New Town Kolkata, Bidhannagar, Durgapur, Haldia

Extra Sources to know more

  • Smart Cities – Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs, Government of India

If you have any questions or comments, you can reach out to us at Any concerns or suggestions you have will be taken into consideration.


Subscribe To Our Newsletters

We don’t spam! Read our [link]privacy policy[/link] for more info.


To be updated with all the latest blogs, news and special announcements.