8 Common Land Measurement Units in India

Kishan Thakkar K

Land is measured in India in a variety of ways including acres, hectares, square meters, and square yards (Gaj). 

In the North, the units are called Bigha and Marla, while in the South, the units are called Cent, Guntha, and Ground. The sizes also differ from state to state.

Across the country, there are different terms used to refer to landed property depending on the state. It is always advisable to familiarize yourself with the common land measurement units in India, so you can better understand offers from sellers and terms in land documents.

Click here to know more about other measurements and conversions.

List of some of the common land measurement units

Unit of AreaConversion Unit
1 Square Feet (sq ft)144 sq in (1 feet is 12 inches)
1 Square Centimetres0.00107639 sq ft
1 Square Inch0.0069444 sq ft
1 Square Kilometre (sq km)247.1 acres
1 Square Meter (sq m)10.76391042 sq ft
1 Square Mile640 acres or 259 hectares
1 Square Yard (sq yd)9 sq ft
1 Acre4840 sq yd or 100.04 cents (standard unit to measure land)
1 Hectare10000 sq m or 2.49 acres approximately

In Summary

For more information regarding real estate and related topics, subscribe to The Real Talks and be updated on the new trends of the industry. For any queries, you can reach out to info@roodland.com. Your doubts and queries will be cleared as soon as possible.


Subscribe To Our Newsletters

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


To be updated with all the latest blogs, news and special announcements.