What Are the Sectors of the Economy?

Kishan Thakkar K

The Indian economy is divided into three sectors, namely, primary economy, secondary economy, and tertiary economy. The Indian economy is also divided into organized and unorganized sectors.

Source: Drishti IAS

Key industries make up the core sectors of an economy. In India, eight sectors are considered the core sectors. These eight sectors are electricity, steel, refinery products, crude oil, coal, cement, natural gas and fertilizers.

These sectors are major contributors to the Indian economy and have a significant impact on most other industries as well. In terms of the Index of Industrial Production (IIP), which indicates the growth rates of different industrial groups during a given period, the eight industries have a combined share of 40.27 per cent.


Subscribe To Our Newsletters

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


To be updated with all the latest blogs, news and special announcements.