Classification of Ancestral Property

Sujan Afi S

There are various types of ancestral properties, such as

  • Paternal Ancestral Property: According to Hindu law, under this classification, the male member of the family acquires ancestral property up to four generations of male lineage (property from his father, grandfather, great Grandfather and great-Great Grandfather). Maternal Ancestors Property: If a property is inherited through maternal male ancestors (maternal grandfather) then it is considered to be another classification of ancestral property.
  • Property Acquired by Females: If a female member of the family inherits a property, then it will not be considered as ancestral property and in this case, it will be treated as a separate property owned by the female.
  • Property Acquired Through Will/gift from Paternal Ancestors: According to the intention of the ancestors which is reflected through will/gift an acquired property may be considered as either ancestral property or self-acquired property. If there is no condition mentioned in will/gift then it will be considered as separate property and if there is a condition that the inheritor should take the property for the benefit of the family, then it will be considered as ancestral property. 
  • Others: If you inherit an income-generating ancestral property and can purchase another property based on the gains from the ancestral property then the newly purchased property is deemed as ancestral property. Children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren have the right over the income generated from ancestral property.

Subscribe To Our Newsletters

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


To be updated with all the latest blogs, news and special announcements.